Saturday, April 13, 2024

Retiring Scenic Rim councillors farewelled

Scenic Rim Regional Council has paid tribute to retiring councillors, Michael Enright and Virginia West, who have both chosen not to stand at the upcoming council elections.

Scenic Rim’s longest-serving Councillor, Virginia West, was first elected to Beaudesert Shire Council in 2004 and has been part of Scenic Rim Regional Council since its inception in 2008 and the decision making that has contributed to the region’s growth since then.

She has been Scenic Rim’s portfolio councillor for Active Transport – Roads, Bridges and Paths, Chair of the Scenic Valleys Regional Road Group and a member of the Local Government Association of Queensland’s Roads and Transport Advisory Group.

Cr West served as Deputy Mayor from 2012 to 2016, and her roles as president of the Canungra Local Ambulance Committee, a member of the Beaudesert Hospital Consumer Partnership Committee and as a member of the Tamborine Mountain College board are a testament to her commitment to the local community.

The Division 3 Councillor was recently made a life member of the Canungra Chamber of Commerce in recognition of her support since its establishment in 2011.

Councillor Enright was elected to Scenic Rim Regional Council in 2016 and has worked diligently for the past eight years representing Division 4 as well as the wider Scenic Rim community.

He served as Deputy Mayor for 12 months from May 2021 and as Scenic Rim Arts Reference Group Chair since 2020 until now, becoming the Scenic Rim’s Community, Arts and Culture Portfolio Councillor in July 2023.

To support Scenic Rim community events and activities up to and during the Commonwealth Games in 2018, Cr Enright chaired the Readiness Reference Group and has also served on Council’s Regional Arts Development Fund Committee and Tourism Advisory Committee.

Councillor Enright’s long history of community service over some 40 years includes the Beaudesert and District Health and Welfare Association and St Mary’s Pastoral Council for four years, two as Chairman.

Latest Articles