Tuesday, March 5, 2024

New Mornington Mayor elected

Mornington Peninsula Shire Council has elected Councillor Steve Holland as Mayor and Councillor Debra Mar as Deputy Mayor for the coming year.

The new Mayor said it was a great privilege to be elected as Mayor of Mornington Peninsula Shire.

“Thank you to all of my colleagues for entrusting me with this responsibility,” he said.

“It is an honour to represent the community that I grew up in. As Councillors we have a unique opportunity to represent our community at a grassroots level, which is where government decisions can often have the most impact. My commitment to my colleagues and the broader community is that I will work tirelessly alongside you to achieve the best outcomes for our Mornington Peninsula.”

Mayor Holland is the appointed representative on Council’s Australia Day Committee and the Mornington Liquor Industry Accord. He also serves on the Executive of the Association of Bayside Municipalities and was elected by his peers throughout Victoria to the Board of the Victorian Local Governance Association (VLGA).

Outgoing Mayor, Councillor Anthony Marsh and Deputy Mayor, Councillor Lisa Dixon both spoke at the meeting, thanking their fellow councillors, Shire staff, the community and their families.

Latest Articles