Sunday, July 21, 2024

Women in LG awards open

The work of women in NSW councils is being celebrated with nominations now open for the 2022 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government.

Minister for Local Government, Wendy Tuckerman said the Awards were an opportunity to recognise the accomplishments of inspirational women in communities across NSW.

“There are countless examples of talented women serving or working in our councils and I thank them for the invaluable contribution they make to the local government sector,” Mrs Tuckerman said.

“The number of women being elected to our councils continues to grow, increasing to 39% of all councillors at the last local government elections and we want to ensure this number continues to climb.

“Showcasing the dedicated women we have serving their communities in local government is an important way to help more women follow in their footsteps.”

The Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government, now in their 15th year, are presented in several categories, including Young Achievers Award, Elected Representative Award, and the Councillor Lillian Brady OAM Award.

NSW Minister for Women, Bronnie Taylor said it was great to see more and more women making a difference in local government, especially in rural and regional NSW.

“I am so proud to be part of a Government that is focused on increasing the representation of women in local government. It is amazing that 27 councils now have a female majority,” Mrs Taylor said.

“These awards are a wonderful opportunity to recognise and honour the women who have shown outstanding leadership in local government. I encourage all of you to nominate the women who are making a real difference in your community.”

Nominations for the 2022 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government can be submitted until 19 October 2022 here.

The winners of the 2021 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government were:

𝗔𝗹𝘁𝗲𝗿𝗻𝗮𝘁𝗶𝘃𝗲 𝗣𝗮𝘁𝗵𝘄𝗮𝘆𝘀 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 – 𝗠𝗲𝘁𝗿𝗼

• Priscilla Felice, Trades Supervisor, Asset Maintenance, Waverley Council

𝗔𝗹𝘁𝗲𝗿𝗻𝗮𝘁𝗶𝘃𝗲 𝗣𝗮𝘁𝗵𝘄𝗮𝘆𝘀 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 – 𝗥𝗲𝗴𝗶𝗼𝗻𝗮𝗹/𝗥𝘂𝗿𝗮𝗹

• Belinda Thomson, Vegetation Maintenance Supervisor, Lake Macquarie City Council

𝗖𝗵𝗮𝗺𝗽𝗶𝗼𝗻 𝗼𝗳 𝗖𝗵𝗮𝗻𝗴𝗲 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 – 𝗠𝗲𝘁𝗿𝗼

• Marnie Mitchell, Manager, People and Performance, City of Ryde Council

𝗖𝗵𝗮𝗺𝗽𝗶𝗼𝗻 𝗼𝗳 𝗖𝗵𝗮𝗻𝗴𝗲 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 – 𝗥𝗲𝗴𝗶𝗼𝗻𝗮𝗹/𝗥𝘂𝗿𝗮𝗹 (𝘀𝗵𝗮𝗿𝗲𝗱)

• Laura Black, Acting General Manager, Clarence Valley Council

• Helen McNeil, Group Manager, People and Performance, Rous County Council

𝗘𝗹𝗲𝗰𝘁𝗲𝗱 𝗥𝗲𝗽𝗿𝗲𝘀𝗲𝗻𝘁𝗮𝘁𝗶𝘃𝗲 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 – 𝗠𝗲𝘁𝗿𝗼

• Councillor Clare Raffan, City of Canterbury Bankstown Council

𝗘𝗹𝗲𝗰𝘁𝗲𝗱 𝗥𝗲𝗽𝗿𝗲𝘀𝗲𝗻𝘁𝗮𝘁𝗶𝘃𝗲 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 – 𝗥𝗲𝗴𝗶𝗼𝗻𝗮𝗹/𝗥𝘂𝗿𝗮𝗹

• Councillor Marion Browne, Broken Hill City Council

𝗘𝗺𝗽𝗹𝗼𝘆𝗺𝗲𝗻𝘁 𝗗𝗶𝘃𝗲𝗿𝘀𝗶𝘁𝘆 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 – 𝗠𝗲𝘁𝗿𝗼

• City of Wollongong Council

𝗬𝗼𝘂𝗻𝗴 𝗔𝗰𝗵𝗶𝗲𝘃𝗲𝗿’𝘀 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 – 𝗠𝗲𝘁𝗿𝗼

• Kristyne Arneill, Support Officer, City of Canada Bay Council

𝗬𝗼𝘂𝗻𝗴 𝗔𝗰𝗵𝗶𝗲𝘃𝗲𝗿’𝘀 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 – 𝗥𝗲𝗴𝗶𝗼𝗻𝗮𝗹/𝗥𝘂𝗿𝗮𝗹

• Shanon Gray, Cadet Accountant, Lake Macquarie City Council

𝗖𝗼𝘂𝗻𝗰𝗶𝗹𝗹𝗼𝗿 𝗟𝗶𝗹𝗹𝗶𝗮𝗻 𝗕𝗿𝗮𝗱𝘆 𝗢𝗔𝗠 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 (𝗳𝗼𝗿𝗺𝗲𝗿𝗹𝘆 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗠𝗶𝗻𝗶𝘀𝘁𝗲𝗿 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗟𝗼𝗰𝗮𝗹 𝗚𝗼𝘃𝗲𝗿𝗻𝗺𝗲𝗻𝘁 𝗔𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗪𝗼𝗺𝗲𝗻)

• Leanne Barnes OAM PSM, former General Manager of Bega Valley Shire Council

Latest Articles