Friday, February 23, 2024

NSW flood assistance flows to four more LGAs

Jointly funded disaster assistance is now available to an additional four local government areas (LGAs) as the severe flooding that has affected large parts of NSW since mid-September continues.

The LGAs of Bathurst, Oberon, Shellharbour and Uralla are now subject to a natural disaster declaration (NDD).

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Senator Murray Watt said damage to areas within the additionally declared LGAs had been significant.

“The intense and ongoing floods have left councils across the State with major repair works,” Minister Watt said.

“With such a massive task ahead of them, these councils need the Australian and New South Wales Governments to work collaboratively and quickly so they know they’ve got the financial backing to get on with the job.”

NSW Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience, Steph Cooke said 70 LGAs were now subject to a NDD.

“The widespread and ongoing nature of this flood event has meant it has taken more time to assess the damage across New South Wales, with eight river systems across our State still experiencing major flooding,” Ms Cooke said.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) for the flood event that started on 14 September 2022.

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply);
  • Support for local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations; and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

Latest Articles