Sunday, May 26, 2024

Noosa Council votes for experience

Noosa Mayor, Frank Wilkie says Councillors have opted for experience with today’s vote appointing Councillor Brian Stockwell as Deputy Mayor, and Councillor Jess Phillips as Local Disaster Management Group (LDMG) Deputy Chair. 

“Councillor Stockwell offers extensive council experience, and depth of knowledge on the strategies and polices that have made Noosa what it is today – its points of difference,” said Mayor Wilkie.

“Likewise, Councillor Jess Phillips, in her former role as a Queensland police officer, has worked in the emergency services space and taken part in disaster management events previously. She talks the language and is the best candidate for the role.”

The key positions were elected at today’s post-election meeting.

Cr Stockwell – a fourth-term councillor first elected in the 1980s – described his appointment to the Deputy Mayor role as a great honour and a privilege.

“It’s something I will not take lightly and will give it my best for the next four years,” Cr Stockwell said.

“There are significant challenges ahead for the community and I look forward to the opportunity to work with the Mayor as a leadership team in this council to deliver a future that keeps Noosa different by nature.

“I have a good understanding of not just the current issues but their genesis that can date back to decades earlier,” he said.

As Deputy Chair of the Local Disaster Management Group, Cr Phillips will support the Mayor in his role as Chair.

Cr Phillips said she was humbled and excited to take on the role.

“I have 15 years of policing experience. I’ve been a first responder through cyclone, flood, fire and the pandemic, so I think that experience will help to ensure the community can have faith in Council during times of disaster,” Cr Phillips said.

At the meeting, Councillors were also appointed to the Planning and Environment Committee and Services and Organisation Committee, with the current meeting structure to remain in place until June, when it will be reviewed.

As well as the Mayor who will serve as member of both committees, the Planning and Environment Committee comprises Councillors Amelia Lorentson, Brian Stockwell and Tom Wegener.

Joining the Mayor on the Services and Organisation Committee are Councillors Karen Finzel, Jess Phillips and Nicola Wilson.

Latest Articles