Wednesday, May 29, 2024

LGASA thanks departing LG minister

The Local Government Association of South Australia (LGA SA) has acknowledged the achievements of Minister, Geoff Brock, and thanked him for his “exceptional service and dedication” to the local government sector as he today announced he is stepping down from South Australian Cabinet.

LGA SA President, Mayor Dean Johnson said the Minister’s resignation marks the close of a significant chapter in his political career and acknowledged the enormous contribution to local government and South Australia’s regions.

“Minister Brock’s commitment to making a positive impact in the community and making a difference in local government started when he was first elected to Port Pirie Regional Council in 1989 and has carried through in his time in office,” President Johnson said.

“As Minister for Local Government, Geoff has been a dependable advocate for councils and their communities, working tirelessly to address the unique challenges faced by local government across South Australia.

“His efforts have helped to strengthen the relationship between the State Government and local councils, ensuring the voices of local communities are heard and considered in decision-making processes.”

In a statement, the Association acknowledged Minister Brock’s dedication to improving regional roads and infrastructure, which has been instrumental in enhancing the safety and connectivity of communities across the state.

“Minister Brock has also been a driving force behind the Local Government Participation and Elections Review which is currently underway, and played a key role in the implementation of the new Behavioural Standards Panel,” it stated.

The Panel, introduced as part of the Local Government reforms that took effect in November 2022, is a significant element of a new conduct management framework for councils, setting in place state-wide standards of expected behaviour and values for all council members.

“While Geoff will leave significant shoes to fill, such is his longstanding experience, passion and commitment for local government, he’s made an important decision to focus on his health, his family and his electorate of Stuart,” President Johnson said.

“It has been a pleasure to work with the Minister and we wish him all the best in his continued role as the Member for Stuart and look forward to his ongoing contributions to the community.”

The Association said it looks forward to working with the new Minister for Local Government when appointed and remains committed to working with the South Australian Government to advance the interests of local councils and their communities.

Latest Articles