Thursday, May 30, 2024

Disaster relief funding spreads

Jointly-funded Commonwealth-State disaster assistance has been extended to a further five NSW local government areas (LGAs) following the June-July flood event.

The latest five LGAs to be included are Bogan, Brewarrina, Dubbo, Parkes and Parramatta.

This brings the total number of LGAs receiving assistance under the jointly funded Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) to 49.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Senator Murray Watt, said the severe weather and flooding had now impacted regions within the west of the State due to river system flooding.

“We continue to see the Barwon and Namoi river systems impacted by flood waters from northern New South Wales and southern Queensland leaving councils with significant damage to road infrastructure,” Minister Watt said.

“This is a widespread weather event that’s impacting communities over an extended period of time, so we need to make sure that appropriate assistance is available as more damage becomes apparent.”

NSW Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience and Minister for Flood Recovery, Steph Cooke said many Government agencies would be involved in the recovery effort to support all communities and businesses across the 49 LGAs.

“New South Wales will continue working closely with the Commonwealth to put additional funding and resources into the ongoing recovery effort,” Ms Cooke said.

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply);
  • Support for local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations; and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

Latest Articles