Thursday, May 30, 2024

Baw Baw Mayor appointed to state advisory panel

Baw Baw Shire Council Mayor, Annemarie McCabe, has been appointed to the Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel for 2023, alongside 12 other mayors from across Victoria.  

The group works alongside the Minister for Local Government, Melissa Horne, to provide advice on legislative, regulatory, strategic and policy issues.  

Mayor McCabe said her decision to apply for the panel position this year was driven by an interest to get involved with local government discussions at a higher level, saying, “it’s all about being a part of the conversation”.  

“There is room to improve the public perception of local government and in particular the role of councillors. I’m excited to begin conversations in this space and look forward to seeing what that’ll look like,” said Mayor McCabe.

The Mayor said she will be directing her attention to the growing impact of cost-shifting from State and Federal of governments onto local governments that are working amid the challenges of a rate-capped environment. 

“I believe it will be a very valuable opportunity to make sure our concerns and priorities are heard at the State Government level, and to make a real impact on legislative and policy decisions that impact Councils and our residents,” she said.

Mayor McCabe will join the Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel alongside:  

  • Cr Andrea Metcalf, Greater Bendigo City Council 
  • Cr James Magee, Glen Eira City Council 
  • Cr Antoinette (Tony) Briffa , Hobsons Bay City Council 
  • Cr Sophie Price, Indigo Shire Council 
  • Cr Hadi Saab, Kingston City Council 
  • Cr Fiona Stevens, Mitchell Shire Council 
  • Cr Augustina Samardzija, Monash City Council 
  • Cr Pierce Tyson, Moonee Valley City Council  
  • Cr Rosie Annear, Mount Alexander Shire Council 
  • Cr Karen Foster, Moyne Shire Council 
  • Cr Laura Binks, Strathbogie Shire Council 
  • Cr Claudia Nguyen, Yarra City Council.

Latest Articles