Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Visy signs on to container deposit scheme

Visy was today announced as one of Victoria’s network operators for the state’s container deposit scheme (CDS).

The announcement was made by Victorian Minister for the Environment, Ingrid Stitt, at the Port Melbourne Life Saving Club.

The Minister said Visy will be supported by Envirobank, an Australian-owned and recognised indigenous business. Together they will run the collection and refund points across the Loddon, Mallee and Hume regions, as well as the inner north-eastern suburbs of Melbourne.

Victoria is set to install the highest number of refund collection points per person anywhere in Australia, with Visy installing over 200 refund collection points for Victorians to recycle their containers. Visy’s network operating model for the scheme will create an estimated 215 jobs directly in the network, with up to 500 indirect jobs created across the Victorian economy, the Minister said.

Visy CEO, Mark De Wit (pictured) said the company’s infrastructure and expertise for recycling, product innovation and logistics will help ensure the container deposit scheme achieves strong recycling rates, creates new local jobs, and reduces waste and emissions from landfill.

“Visy’s expertise as Australia’s largest processor of kerbside recycling ensures we will operate a container deposit scheme Victorians can be proud of,” he said.

“We will empower local schools, charities and sporting groups to reduce litter and fundraise for projects by establishing the most accessible scheme across Australia.”

Visy is currently taking enquires for local businesses and not for profits to act as collection point operators in the region.  

Network operators work alongside the scheme coordinator who manages the administration and finance of the scheme. CDS Vic will begin on 1 November 2023.

Visy is the network operator for zones two and five:

Zone two: Alpine Shire Council, Benalla Rural City Council, Buloke Shire Council, Campaspe Shire Council, Central Goldfields Shire Council, Gannawarra Shire Council, Greater Bendigo City Council, Greater Shepparton City Council, Indigo Shire Council, Loddon Shire Council, Macedon Ranges Shire Council, Mansfield Shire Council, Mildura Rural City Council, Mitchell Shire Council, Moira Shire Council, Mount Alexander Shire Council, Murrindindi Shire Council, Strathbogie Shire Council, Swan Hill Rural City Council, Towong Shire Council, Wangaratta Rural City Council and Wodonga City Council

Zone five: City of Banyule, City of Boroondara, City of Darebin, City of Knox, City of Manningham, City of Maroondah, City of Whitehorse, City of Yarra, Melbourne City Council, Nillumbik Shire Council, Whittlesea City Council, Yarra Ranges Shire Council.

Latest Articles