Sunday, May 26, 2024

Safe work awards nominations open

South Australian local councils will have the opportunity to be rewarded for their commitment to improving safe work practices by entering the 2022-23 LGA SA Scheme Awards.

For more than two decades, the Awards have acknowledged excellence among South Australia’s local government sector in implementing risk management programs, processes, systems or developments.

This year, $90,000 in total prize money is available to member councils and eligible local government authorities – building on the more than $1.9 million awarded to councils since the Scheme’s inception in 1999.

LGA SA Mutual CEO, Dr Andrew Johnson said the Scheme Awards provided an opportunity to highlight and share the range of diverse activities that councils are undertaking across the state to protect the safety and wellbeing of their staff and the community.

“Last year’s winners included projects such as the strategic coastal risk assessment, improvements made to the operations of a tip truck to improve safety and the design and manufacture of ‘smart plate’ to improve the cleaning of side entry pits,” Dr Johnson said.

LGA SA CEO, Clinton Jury said the awards have recognised the significant advances being made in the local government sector to improve safe work practices over the last 20 years.

“Innovation when it comes to eliminating or minimising injury risk, or liability risk, in the workplace should be rewarded and the LGA is proud to support those organisations who are proactive in this space through our annual Scheme Awards,” Mr Jury said.

The awards are divided into two categories:

WHS Awards: This category recognises demonstrated innovation in the workplace to eliminate or minimise injury risk, such as actions implemented above and beyond standard practice. Applicants must have contributed to the successful implementation of WHS to improve safety.

Prize allocation is as follows:

  • WHS Metropolitan Award: $15,000
  • WHS Regional Award: $15,000
  • Merit Awards (x4): $5,000

Risk Awards: This category recognises development of effective or innovative risk management practices that will eliminate or minimise a liability issue. Applicants must have contributed to providing a safer environment for their community.

Prize allocation is as follows:

  • Major Risk Award: $20,000
  • Risk Incentive Award (x2): $10,000

The judging panels for each award category will comprise representatives from key stakeholder groups including SafeWork SA, ReturnToWork SA, LGA, LGAWCS, LGAMLS and LGA SA Mutual.

Nominations close on 19 December. Information on how to nominate can be found on the LGA website:

Latest Articles