Wednesday, May 29, 2024

NSW LG award winners announced

Councils from across NSW have been recognised for their outstanding achievements over the past year at the Local Government Week Awards 2022.

The awards, which were staged at the Fullerton Hotel in Sydney overnight, celebrate councils who demonstrate excellence across a range of categories such as arts and culture, events, communications and planning.

Woollahra Municipal Council was the big winner on the night, taking home three awards including two Leo Kelly OAM Arts and Culture Awards and a LGNSW Planning Award. Two of the awards were for the Woollahra Aboriginal Heritage Study, which provided the council with a much better understanding of the Aboriginal history and heritage of Woollahra.

Gilgandra Shire Council also won multiple awards including a RH Dougherty Award for excellence in communication and a Department of Communities and Justice NSW Youth Week Award.

Murray River Council received two RH Dougherty Awards as well for innovation in special events and reporting to its community.

Fairfield City Council also had a winning night, receiving RH Dougherty award for excellence in communication and a NSW Youth Week Award.

Local Government NSW President, Darriea Turley congratulated all the award recipients and nominees.

“As the peak body for local government in NSW, we are so proud to showcase the wonderful work our NSW councils are doing right across the state for the benefit of their communities,” Cr Turley said.

“These awards – as well as Local Government Week – have once again demonstrated how councils have gone above and beyond in what has been another particularly challenging year for many.

“Whether it be rural, regional or metropolitan areas, it is local government that is on the ground and manning the frontlines to keep the heart of their communities beating.”

Other winners included Forbes, Blacktown and Maitland councils, who all took out Leo Kelly OAM Arts and Culture Awards.

Canterbury Bankstown, Goulburn Mulwaree, Hawkesbury, and Parramatta councils received RH Dougherty Awards, while Coonamble and Penrith won Planning Awards.

Inner West and Yass Valley councils also received NSW Youth Week Awards.

Latest Articles