Saturday, May 25, 2024

New water holder named

Dr Simon Banks has been appointed as the new Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder (CEWH) following the recent retirement of Hilton Taylor.

The CEWH manages water for the environment on behalf of the Australian Government to support the rivers and wetlands of the Murray-Darling Basin.

Dr Banks (pictured) previously held a senior role at the Commonwealth Environmental Water Office (CEWO) from 2009 to 2014.

He has also held senior roles in the Australian Government in natural resource management and has extensive experience in engaging with stakeholders – from local communities through to international organisations.

Dr Banks said he is pleased to be returning to the CEWO and is looking forward to reconnecting with Basin communities as well as progressing the important work of the CEWH.

“In the coming months I will be travelling the Basin to meet with community members, First Nations people, industry representatives, peak bodies and State Governments.”

“The CEWO recently published its Water Management Plan 2022-23 which will guide the delivery of water in the year ahead. I look forward to working with our delivery partners to ensure there is efficiency and co-ordination of the use of water for the environment across the Basin,” he said.

Dr Banks will commence on 3 October.

Latest Articles