Saturday, April 13, 2024

New Mayor for City of Swan

Western Australia’s City of Swan Council has voted in a new Mayor.

Councillor David Lucas won the top job with seven votes. Council’s Deputy Mayor is Councillor Mel Congerton.

Nominations for the deputy Mayor included Councillors Jennifer Catalano and Andrew Kiely, with Councillor Congerton securing the position with seven votes.

The Local Government elections were held on the weekend to fill seven vacancies across the five City wards.

Results saw Cr Patty Jones (Pearce Ward), Cr Charlie Zannino (Swan Valley/Gidgegannup Ward), Cr Andrew Kiely (Altone Ward) and Cr Jennifer Catalano (Altone Ward) re-elected for another four-year term.

Midland/Guildford Ward councillor Claire Scanlon and Whiteman Ward councillor John McNamara’s terms expired this year and both chose to retire.

New Councillors elected include Sarah Howlett (Midland/Guildford Ward), Aaron Bowman (Pearce Ward) and Dave Knight (Whiteman Ward).

City of Swan Chief Executive Officer, Jeremy Edwards congratulated the successful candidates on their election to Council.

“I look forward to working and collaborating with the new Council and our new Mayor and deputy Mayor,” he said.

“Representing your community on Council is a privilege and an exciting opportunity to make decisions that have a positive impact on the City’s future.”

Mr Edwards thanked out-going Councillor Kevin Bailey for his passion and dedication to his roles on Council over the past 16 years.

“Mr Bailey leaves with an impressive legacy as Councillor, Deputy Mayor and Mayor on Swan Council,” he said.

“It has been a pleasure to work with him since I started at the City as CEO this year, and

I wish him all the best in his future endeavours. I am sure his passion for his community will continue.”

Latest Articles