Sunday, May 26, 2024

New Kingston Mayor joins state advisory board

Kingston Mayor, Hadi Saab and Mitchell Shire Mayor, Fiona Stevens, have been appointed to Victoria’s Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel for 2023.

The panel is made up of 13 mayors from urban, regional, and rural areas across the state and provides Victorian Local Government Minister, Melissa Horne, with advice on legislative, regulatory, strategic and policy issues that affect councils and local communities.

Mayor Saab said it was a great opportunity and honour to be selected for the panel in his first term as mayor.

“This is a great way for me to champion communities and Councils with the Victorian Government,” he said. 

“It’s essential that all levels of government work collaboratively to find solutions for issues impacting our communities, our state and our nation.

“While I’m looking forward to hearing the different perspectives of councils from across Victoria and finding ways to work together for the good of our communities, I’m also taking this opportunity to represent the sector with feedback from Kingston and its residents to ensure there is ongoing trust in the ability of local government to deliver.

The first meeting of the advisory panel with Minister Horne was held on Tuesday 4 April.

The first item for the panel’s attention was a focus on governance and accountability.

Mayor Stevens said she would use the panel as an opportunity to bring Mitchell Shire’s key issues to the Minister.

Mitchell Shire Mayor, Fiona Stevens.

“Working closely with Minister Horne is an excellent opportunity to advocate for Mitchell Shire in conjunction with other Councils,” she said.

“Representation on this panel means we have a significant opportunity to raise matters of local concern and importance directly with the Minister.

“The benefit of this panel is to bring direct experience and advice from those in local government to help formulate affective legislation and policy to make a real difference at the grassroots level. This opportunity is greatly appreciated.”

The Mayors join the Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel alongside:

  • Cr Andrea Metcalf, Greater Bendigo City Council
  • Cr James Magee, Glen Eira City Council
  • Cr Antoinette (Tony) Briffa, Hobsons Bay City Council
  • Cr Sophie Price, Indigo Shire Council
  • Cr Fiona Stevens, Mitchell Shire Council
  • Cr Augustina Samardzija, Monash City Council
  • Cr Pierce Tyson, Moonee Valley City Council
  • Cr Rosie Annear, Mount Alexander Shire Council
  • Cr Karen Foster, Moyne Shire Council
  • Cr Laura Binks, Strathbogie Shire Council
  • Cr Claudia Nguyen, Yarra City Council.

Latest Articles