Friday, June 21, 2024

New Councillor for Balonne Shire

Alex Benn has been officially sworn in as a councillor at Balonne Shire Council, after being elected unopposed, as declared by the Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ).

Councillor Benn has filled the vacancy created after former Councillor Ian Todd resigned in September 2022, following more than five years in the role.

Cr Benn says he is excited to take on the role of representing his community.

“It is an honour to serve the people of the Balonne Shire. I am looking forward to working with the Council team and residents to support the Council ethos of welcoming, connected and innovative communities, where economies are strong, and opportunities are abundant,” he says.

Mayor, Samantha O’Toole said she was delighted to welcome Councillor Benn to the Balonne Shire team.

“I would like to congratulate Councillor Benn on the result,” the Mayor said.

“We are looking forward to working with him, hearing new perspectives and learning more about the aspirations he has for our communities and residents.”

Cr Benn will join the next council meeting on 17 November. He will then serve as councillor until the next election which will be held in March 2024.

Latest Articles