Thursday, February 29, 2024

Names sought for Byron beaches

Byron Bay Shire Council is seeking official names for 11 of its 23 beaches.

The Pass, Torakina, and Tyagarah are some of the beaches in the Byron Shire that do not have official names that are recognised by the NSW Geographical Names Board.

Council’s Open Spaces Technical Officer, Andy Erskine said 11 of the 23 beaches in the Byron Shire do not have official names.

“Names that are recognised by the Geographical Names Board are very important because it’s this information that is used by emergency services and others who are responding to emergencies to give accurate location details,” Mr Erskine said.

“Delving into the beach names has been such an interesting project and I think many people would be surprised to know, that some of our beaches that have national and international fame and recognition, do not have official names,” he said.

“I am sure that many people in the northern part of the Shire would be surprised to know that officially there is no Brunswick Heads Main Beach, Torakina, North Wall, New Brighton or South Golden Beach,” he said.

“We have created a map of our coastline and we are asking the community to look at the beaches and provide comments or feedback about the existing names,” Mr Erskine said.

All feedback will be collated and presented to the Council.

Information about the project along with the chance to make a submission is on Council’s website.

The closing date for submissions is 23 February 2023.

Latest Articles