Sunday, May 26, 2024

Murrumbidgee Council announces 2024 scholarship recipients


Murrumbidgee Council Mayor, Ruth McRae (pictured), has announced three local students will receive a scholarship to support their education journey.

Selected through a rigorous process, Tiarna Burke, Zavier Cadorin and Olivia Whelan (pictured, below) have been chosen as this year’s recipients, each receiving $1,000.

The education scholarships aim to alleviate the financial burden associated with pursuing tertiary education, empowering the students to reach their full potential.

In congratulating the recipients, Mayor McRae highlighted the importance of education in driving progress and investing in the next generation of leaders.

“At Murrumbidgee Council, we are proud to play a part in helping locals achieve their educational goals. I wish each of them the best with their future studies and look forward to hearing about their accomplishments,” she said.

“Furthering the education of our young is a key part of growing the skills and capacity in our community.

“Taking some of the financial burden off local students and their families is also very important and we are pleased to be able to play a small part in this.”

This year Council will also assist local students through the annual Monash Bursary Program and the Charles Sturt University (CSU) Foundation Scholarship.

Applications for the CSU scholarship have closed. The Monash Bursary will open in October.

Latest Articles