Friday, June 21, 2024

MAV recognises state’s longest serving councillors

The Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV) has formally recognised the dedication of long-serving councillors across the state.

“Serving your community for the four-year term of a council is a great honour for councillors. When terms extend to 10 years and beyond, it deserves recognition,” the Association said in a statement ahead of its annual Councillor Services Awards ceremony.

MAV President, Cr David Clark, said serving the community through local government was a unique responsibility. 

“Communities need dedicated individuals, like those receiving these awards, who are willing to give their time and energy to serve in the best interests of the people and their local communities,” Cr Clark said. 

“Being a councillor can sometimes be a thankless task. We think it’s important, as the peak body for the local government sector, to provide this recognition.

“The MAV has the great privilege of seeing firsthand the hard work and hours dedicated councillors put into their role – often on top of their day job. It’s a credit to all those receiving awards.

“Councils are proud to be part of their communities, they are the true local representatives. It’s a great honour, but equally a responsibility I know all of these recipients take very seriously,” Cr Clark said. 

The councillors recognised at MAV’s 2023 awards were:

Cr Jo Armstrong, MayorArarat Rural City Council
Cr Lara Carli, MayorMelton City Council
Cr Sarah Carter, MayorMaribyrnong City Council
Cr Ron Eason, MayorPyrenees Shire Council
Cr Ross EbbelsQueenscliffe Borough Council
Cr Charlie Gillingham, MayorGannawarra Shire Council
Cr Jami Klisaris, MayorStonnington City Council
Cr Paul KlisarisMonash City Council
Cr Jim Magee, MayorGlen Eira City Council
Cr Peter MaynardWyndham City Council
Cr Mark Reeves, MayorEast Gippsland Shire Council
10 YEARS CATEGORY36 Recipients
Cr Jennifer AndersonMacedon Ranges Shire Council
Cr Tamsin BearsleyKingston City Council
Cr Kris BolamFrankston City Council
Cr Sue BoltonMerri-bek City Council
Cr Andrew BondPort Phillip City Council
Cr Bill ChisholmMitchell Shire Council
Cr Peter CroucherIndigo Shire Council
Cr Andrew DavenportWhitehorse City Council
Cr Helen DavidsonMerri-bek City Council
Cr Mohya DaviesSouth Gippsland Shire Council
Cr Ron Eason, MayorPyrenees Shire Council
Cr David EdenKingston City Council
Cr Don FirthBenalla Rural City Council
Cr Colleen GatesCampaspe Shire Council
Cr Adrian WestonCampaspe Shire Council
Mr Larry GoldsworthyIndigo Shire Council
Cr Mark HarrisBallarat City Council
Cr Tanya KehoePyrenees Shire Council
Cr Jami Klisaris, MayorStonnington City Council
Cr Matthew KoceStonnington City Council
Cr Cuc LamMaribyrnong City Council
Cr Clare Le ServeBass Coast Shire Council
Cr Brian LittleMonash City Council
Cr Graeme MasseyYarriambiack Shire Council
Cr Denise MassoudWhitehorse City Council
Cr Peter MaynardWyndham City Council
Cr Stephen MayneManningham City Council
Cr Jack MedcraftHume City Council
Cr Graeme MilneBuloke Shire Council
Cr Debra NelsonHindmarsh Shire Council
Cr Rebecca PatersonMonash City Council
Cr Mark Reeves, MayorEast Gippsland Shire Council
Cr Rhonda SandersonMitchell Shire Council
Cr Ben TaylorBallarat City Council
Cr Mendy UrieEast Gippsland Shire Council
Cr Julie Williams, MayorDarebin City Council
15 YEARS CATEGORY31 Recipients
Cr Albert CalvanoSouthern Grampians Shire Council
Cr Raylene CarrWhitehorse City Council
Cr Sarah Carter, MayorMaribyrnong City Council
Cr Jim Child, MayorYarra Ranges Shire Council
Cr Michael ClarkeMaribyrnong City Council
Cr Bernard GaffneyIndigo Shire Council
Cr David GillMornington Peninsula Shire COuncil
Cr Gaetano GrecoDarebin City Council
Cr Don HendersonHepburn Shire Council
Cr Tricia JonesBaw Baw Shire Council
Cr Tony KeebleAlpine Shire Council
Cr Helena KirbyGolden Plains Shire Council
Cr Peter KostosBaw Baw Shire Council
Cr Kathy MajdlikMelton City Council
Cr Trent McCarthyDarebin City Council
Cr Samantha McIntoshBallarat City Council
Cr Andrew McLeanYarriambiack Shire Council
Cr Les McPhee, MayorSwan Hill Rural City Council
Cr Andrew MunroeWhitehorse City Council
Cr Darren PearceKnox City Council
Cr David PollardBuloke Shire Council
Cr Collin RossCardinia Shire Council
Cr Scott RossettiWellington Shire Council
Cr Narelle SharpeMoonee Valley City Council
Cr Steve StaikosKingston City Council
Cr Amanda StoneYarra City Council
Cr Lambros TapinosMerri-bek City Council
Cr Loi TruongGreater Dandenong City Council
Cr Bob TurnerMelton City Council
Cr Oscar YildizMerri-bek City Council
Cr Kylie Zanker, MayorYarriambiack Shire Council
Cr Harvey BentonWangaratta Rural City Council
Cr Sam DavidBrimbank City Council
Cr Kevin Erwin, MayorNorthern Grampians Shire Council
Cr Margaret EsakoffGlen Eira City Council
Cr Ruth Gstrein, MayorCorangamite Shire Council
Cr Paul KlisarisMonash City Council
Cr Tim LaurenceDarebin City Council
Cr Melina SehrStonnington City Council
Cr Gilbert WilsonGlenelg Shire Council
Cr David ClarkPyrenees Shire Council

Latest Articles