Friday, June 21, 2024

Hornsby Art Prize attracts record number of entries

The winners of the 2023 Hornsby Art Prize have been announced, with Ryan Daffurn from Brisbane, taking home the top prize for his painting, Proposition 5, 4, 3, 2, 1! — an oil on linen depiction of a young musician.

Mr Daffurn’s artwork was selected as the winner from a pool of 84 finalists, drawn from a record-breaking 610 artworks submitted from seven Australian states and territories, said Hornsby Shire Council Mayor, Philip Ruddock.

“The standard of entries this year was incredibly high,” said Mayor Ruddock AO.

“Congratulations to the winners and I commend all the artists who took the time to enter the competition and share their wonderful artwork. It’s fantastic to be able to celebrate local and national talent through the Hornsby Art Prize.”

Entries to the categories of Painting, Drawing, Printmaking, Digital Art-Stills and Sculpture competed for a total prize pool valued at $23,000, with the major prize worth $10,000. This year’s judges were artists James Powditch, Nicole Mather, and Chris Langlois.

“I feel amazing. It’s incredible. Winning a prize like this can really change an artist’s direction and it’s a really positive thing,” said Mr Daffurn (pictured with his winning artwork).

“The prize is fantastic, the building is beautiful, the standard is very high and I was interested in the judges as well; they’re painters and they’re artists.”

Hosted by Hornsby Shire Council in partnership with the Hornsby Art Society, the Hornsby Art Prize is an annual national art competition and exhibition promoting and celebrating outstanding Australian contemporary art.

The winners were presented their awards by Mayor Ruddock at a special ceremony at the Wallarobba Arts and Cultural Centre on Friday evening.

The Hornsby Shire Local Artist Award went to Libby Moore from Beecroft for her painting, Just put your feet up for a while.

“I’m so excited and I’m very honoured to be the recipient of the Local Artist Award. This kind of recognition is very exciting and affirming,” said Ms Moore.

Other winners include:

  • Digital Stills Award
    Joseph De La Hoyde, Still Life I-II
  • Sculpture Award
    Lauri Smith, Night Flower
  • Drawing Award
    Yvette Tziallas, Guide to grow a kidney
  • Printmaking Award
    Dean Brown, Australia Day
  • Painting Award
    John Mangila, Unknown in floral shirt

Hornsby Art Society President Chris Beard expressed his delight at the overwhelming response to the Prize, stating that the Society was “blown away with the number of entries this year and beautiful artworks received”.

The prize winners, along with the finalists, will be on exhibition at the Wallarobba Arts and Cultural Centre until 5 November 2023, Tuesday – Sunday, 10am – 4pm.

Latest Articles