Saturday, May 25, 2024

Hobart council congratulates departing Deputy Mayor

The City of Hobart Council has congratulated Deputy Lord Mayor Helen Burnet, who has been elected to the Tasmanian House of Assembly seat of Clark following last month’s state election.

Having served the Hobart Community for 19 years, the Council said Cr Burnet (pictured) had been an integral part of the Hobart City Council since 2005, demonstrating a long-standing commitment to the city.

Serving as Deputy Lord Mayor from 2009 to 2011 and again since 2018, Cr Burnet has been an advocate on many issues including, for stronger regional collaboration on climate change planning and the protection of kunanyi / Mt Wellington from inappropriate development.

Cr Burnet also led the work to protect of view lines and heritage through clearer height limits in the CBD.

She has also advocated for differential rates for the owners of short stay accommodation as a way to reduce the conversion of long-term rentals to holiday rentals, the Council said in a statement.

“She has worked incredibly hard during all her years on Council and has been a person that the community can rely on to take an interest in their voices,” said Lord Mayor, Anna Reynolds.

“She has been a wonderful support in her role as Deputy Lord Mayor over the past five years.”

Cr Burnet said her time in leadership roles at Hobart and at the helm of the Southern Tasmanian Councils Authority had put her in touch with many people and their issues across the municipality and beyond.

“It has been a pleasure to represent the people of Hobart and to work with colleagues and staff who put the interest of others first,” she said.

“I see the opportunity to represent the people of Clark and advocate for urgent action on such issues of homelessness, climate change and transport as a continuation of that work.”

Simon Behrakis.

Cr Burnet’s position on the Hobart City Council will be filled by a recount from the 2022 local government elections, while the position of Deputy Lord Mayor will be decided by a vote by the Hobart City Council elected members.

Former councillor, Simon Behrakis, was also elected to Clark. Mr Behrakis served as an elected member of the Hobart City Council from 2018 to 2023.

Latest Articles