Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Greater Bendigo Mayor to chair Regional Cities

City of Greater Bendigo Mayor, Andrea Metcalf has been elected Chair of Regional Cities Victoria, a leadership group which comprises the 10 largest regional cities in Victoria.

Mayor Metcalf (pictured) was formally elected by her Regional Cities Victoria Mayoral peers yesterday and said she was excited by the opportunity to lead the group.

“It is a critical year for Regional Cities Victoria as we welcome a new Federal Government and another Federal Budget, as well as prepare for a State Election later this year. Advocacy will continue to be a key priority for us,” she said.

“We also have new opportunities to consider, such as the Victoria 2026 Commonwealth Games. While the host cities have been selected, our focus will be on ensuring the many benefits of hosting the Games are shared as widely as possible across regional Victoria.

“I’m passionate about our regional cities being successful and it is an honour to be elected to lead such a hard-working group who share in this aspiration in wanting the best for their communities.

“As we keep taking positive steps out of COVID-19, we will be seeking to address the challenges ahead for regional Victoria, such as rising housing prices and tight rental markets, skills shortages, support for young people and reducing government red tape.

“When our regional cities are strong, so too are the many smaller communities that surround us, and I will be working hard with my peers to ensure regional Victoria continues to grow and prosper.”

Mayor of Latrobe City Council, Kelly O’Callaghan, was re-appointed Deputy Chair of Regional Cities Victoria.

Regional Cities Victoria comprises the Mayors and Chief Executive Officers of the 10 largest cities in regional Victoria – Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong, Horsham, Latrobe, Mildura, Shepparton, Wangaratta, Warrnambool and Wodonga.

Latest Articles