Thursday, February 22, 2024

Greater Bendigo Councillor honoured for 35 years of local service

City of Greater Bendigo Councillor, Rod Fyffe OAM, has been honoured for an incredible 35 years of service to the municipality.

Councillor Fyffe was one of 56 recipients of the Municipal Association of Victoria’s (MAV) Councillor Services Awards, celebrating the achievements, commitment and dedication of long-serving councillors across the state.

MAV President, Cr David Clark said serving the community through local council was a unique responsibility.

“Communities need dedicated individuals, like those receiving these awards, who are willing to give their time and energy to serve in the best interests of the people and their local communities,” Cr Clark said.

“The MAV has the great privilege of seeing firsthand the hard work and hours dedicated councillors put into their role – often on top of their day job. It’s wonderful to provide some recognition.”

The Councillor Service Awards acknowledge the efforts and remarkable contribution of elected councillors. Their commitment to public service deserves to be celebrated, said Cr Clark.

“They might say all politics is local, but councils are the true local representatives. We have the closest ties to our communities because we are products of our community. It’s a great honour, but equally a responsibility I know all of these recipients take very seriously,” he said.

Also honoured, City of Kingston Councillor Ron Brownlees (left), who has served in local government for 30 years.

Other long-service award winners included:

Cr Anthony Aitken, City of Greater GeelongCr Jo Beard, Corangamite Shire Council
Cr Antoinette Briffa, Hobson’s Bay City CouncilCr Belinda Coates, City of Ballarat
Cr Tonia Dudzik, Moorabool Shire CouncilCr David Edwards, Moorabool Shire Council
Cr John Forsyth, Alpine Shire CouncilCr Rob Guthrie, Macedon Ranges Shire Council
Cr Dale Harriman, Latrobe City CouncilCr Richard Higgins, Yarra Ranges Council
Cr Ron Janas, Alpine Shire CouncilCr Amy Johnson, City of Ballarat
Cr Tricia Jones, Baw Baw Shire CouncilCr Michelle Kleinert, Manningham City Council
Cr Eddy Kontelj, City of Greater GeelongCr Rohan Leppert, City of Melbourne
Cr Fiona McAllister, Yarra Ranges CouncilCr Graeme Moore, Cardinia Shire Council
Cr Cameron Nation, City of Moonee ValleyCr Ron Nelson, City of Greater Geelong
Cr Sean O’Reilly, Greater Dandenong CouncilCr Aaron Scales, Towong Shire Council
Cr Nicole Seymour, Knox City CouncilCr Paul Sladdin, Mansfield Shire Council
Cr Paul Tatchell, Moorabool Shire CouncilCr Suzette Tayler, Frankston City Council
Cr Theo Zographos, City of Monash 
Cr Bob Cornish, Mitchell Shire CouncilCr Peter Davis, Benalla Shire Council
Cr Stephen Hart, Colac Otway Shire CouncilCr Ben Stennett, City of Whitehorse
Cr Jim Doukas, Moyne Shire CouncilCr Mark Eckel, Mildura Rural City Council
Cr Des Hudson, City of BallaratCr Geoff Lovett, Central Goldfields Shire Council
Cr Katrina Rainsford, Southern Grampians Shire CouncilCr Sophie Ramsey, City of Melton
Cr Karen Stephens, Glenelg Shire Council 
Cr Peter Beales, Ararat Rural City CouncilCr Alex del Porto, Bayside City Council
Cr Geoff Gough, Manningham City CouncilCr Graeme Middlemiss, Latrobe City Council
Cr Tom Sullivan, Moorabool Shire Council 
Cr Ron Brownlees OAM, City of Kingston 
Cr Rod Fyffe OAM, City of Greater Bendigo 
Cr Neil Beattie, Loddon Shire CouncilCr Jim Child, Yarra Ranges Council
Cr Michael Clarke, Maribyrnong City CouncilCr Tony Driscoll, Northern Grampians Shire Council
Cr Peter Hemphill, Hobsons Bay City CouncilCr Ron Ismay, Hindmarsh Shire Council
Cr Angela Long, Greater Dandenong CouncilCr Kathy Majdlik, City of Melton
Cr Carly Moore, Hume City CouncilCr Andrew Munroe, City of Whitehorse
Cr Brett Owen, Cardinia City CouncilCr Anita Rank, Glenelg Shire Council
Cr Dean Rees, Rural City of WangarattaCr Rhonda Sanderson, Mitchell Shire Council
Cr Steve Staikos, City of KingstonCr Tom Sullivan, Moorabool Shire Council
Cr Brett Tessari, Bass Coast Shire CouncilCr Adrian Weston, Campaspe Shire Council

Latest Articles