Friday, April 26, 2024

Dubbo votes to abolish ward system

Results have been released by the NSW Electoral Commission for the five council wards in the Dubbo Region Local Government Area (LGA).

Candidates now have up to 24 hours to request a recount, which would be determined by the NSW Electoral Commissioner.

Pending any such request, two councillors have been elected from each of the five wards as follows:

  • Central Ward – Mathew Dickerson and Vicki Etheridge;
  • East Ward – Lewis Burns and Damien Mahon;
  • North Ward – Pamella Wells and Matthew Wright;
  • South Ward – Shibli Chowdhury and Josh Black;
  • Wellington Ward – Richard Ivey and Jess Gough.

The result of the referendum asked during the election has also been declared, Dubbo Regional Council said in a statement today.

In addition to voting, residents were asked whether they supported abolishing the current ward system in favour of a single area consisting of all voters that elects 11 councillors.

The outcome was:

  • Yes – 74.59%
  • No – 25.41%

“The next step will be for the new councillors to call for an Extraordinary Meeting of Council where a Mayoral Election can take place,” said Dubbo Regional Council (DRC) CEO, Murray Wood.

“We will keep the community informed as that information comes to hand.

“The Governance team has been working tirelessly to make the transition for the newly elected body as seamless as possible, and we have a comprehensive induction program planned for the new and returning councillors to be held throughout January and February. That program will involve in-house and externally facilitated sessions, so the new councillors and the community can have confidence moving into this next term of council,” he said.

Full results can be viewed on the NSW Electoral Commission’s website:

Latest Articles