Friday, February 23, 2024

38 Mayors commit to Uluru Statement education

Mayors from across Australia have come together to make a joint statement in support of the Uluru Statement from the Heart and the upcoming referendum on the Voice to Parliament. 

Thirty-eight Mayors from seven states and territories, have also committed to civic education of their communities about the importance of the referendum.

Inner West Mayor, Darcy Byrne – whose Council has recruited 800 citizens to undertake training about the Uluru Statement – said local government has a crucial role to play.

“Mayors from across the continent, representing urban, regional and remote communities, have come together to say that public awareness about this historic referendum must be built from the grassroots up,” said Mayor Byrne.

“We are all ready to help inform and educate our communities about the Uluru Statement and create conversations about the referendum in suburbs and towns throughout Australia.”

From the Heart campaigner, Thomas Mayo said it was fantastic to see this support from so many councils around the country. 

“It is local community support that will drive a successful referendum campaign, so ensuring communities are properly informed about the proposal is vital. We look forward to the opportunity of partnering with councils on this initiative,” said Mr Mayo.

Mayors for the Voice to Parliament Public Statement

We the undersigned endorse the Uluru Statement from the Heart and support constitutional recognition for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people through a Voice to Parliament. 

As local leaders, we are committed to building awareness in our communities about the upcoming referendum. 

Our citizens should be informed about what constitutional recognition through a Voice to Parliament will mean for Indigenous people and Australian society as a whole. 

Local government must play an important role in holding civic forums, promoting dialogue, and providing a platform for Indigenous voices to be heard in the debate. 

We believe that a successful referendum can be a unifying achievement for Australia. 

We are ready to work with all levels of government to educate and inform our communities about why this referendum is such an important moment for our nation.

Signed by the following mayors:

  • Heather Holmes-Ross – City of Mitcham (SA)
  • Dr Mary Duniam – Waratah-Wynyard Council (Tas)
  • Chris Homer – Shellharbour Council (NSW)
  • Anna Reynolds – Hobart City Council (Tas)
  • Ben Ramcharan – Nillumbik Shire Council (Vic)
  • Lisa Lake – Cumberland Council (NSW)
  • Kenrick Winchester – Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council (NSW)
  • Danny Gibson – City of Launceston (Tas)
  • Dylan Parker – Randwick City Council (NSW)
  • Maree Statham – Lithgow City Council (NSW)
  • Tony Bleasdale OAM- Blacktown City Council (NSW)
  • Peter Castaldo – Banyule City Council (Vic)
  • Zoe Baker – North Sydney Council (NSW)
  • Donna Davis – City of Parramatta (NSW)
  • Michael Kerr – Douglas Shire Council (Qld)
  • Andrew Zbik – Lane Cove Council (NSW)
  • Christina Curry – Bayside Council (NSW)
  • Nick Katris – Georges River Council (NSW)
  • Michael Whelan – Bass Coast Shire Council (Vic)
  • Clover Moore – City of Sydney (NSW)
  • Isabelle Tolhurst – Borough of Queenscliffe (Vic)
  • Rhys Williams – City of Mandurah (WA)
  • Tony Jack – Roper Gulf Regional Council (NT)
  • Nuatali Nelmes – City of Newcastle (NSW)
  • Khal Asfour – Canterbury Bankstown (NSW)
  • Keri Tamwoy – Aurukun Shire Council (Qld)
  • Charlie Sheahan – Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council (NSW)
  • Mark Greenhill – Blue Mountains City Council (NSW)
  • Des Hudson – City of Ballarat (Vic)
  • Jay Suvaal – Cessnock City Council (NSW)
  • Stephen Allan – Bellingen Shire Council (NSW)
  • Sarah Carter – Maribyrnong City Council (Vic)
  • Kevin Beatty – Cabonne Council (NSW)
  • Paula Masselos – Waverley Council (NSW)
  • Jason Hamling – Orange City Council (NSW)
  • Peter Scott – Cook Shire Council (Qld)
  • Hon George Gear JP – City of Melville (WA)
  • Darcy Byrne – Inner West Council (NSW)

Latest Articles