Friday, July 19, 2024

10 mayors joins Minister’s advisory group

Ten local government mayors have been named on Victorian Minister for Local Government, Melissa Horne’s Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel for 2024.

The Panel will advise the Minister (pictured) on a range of legislative, regulatory, strategic and policy decisions which impact the local government sector.

Comprising mayors from urban, regional and rural communities, the mayors will meet with the Minister Horne four times this year, with the first meeting scheduled for 21 March.

This year’s panel is expected to focus its work on governance, representation and inclusion.

The members of the 2024 panel are:

  • Cr Clare Le Serve, Bass Coast Shire, representing Peri Urban Councils Victoria;
  • Cr Fiona Stitfold, Bayside City Council, representing the Inner South Metropolitan Mayor’s Forum;
  • Cr Naim Kurt, Hume City Council, representing Interface Councils;
  • Cr Jenna Davey-Burns, Kingston City Council, representing the Association of Bayside Municipalities;
  • Cr Cuc Lam PSM, Maribyrnong City Council;
  • Cr Damien Gallagher, Murrindindi Shire;
  • Cr Robert Vance, Pyrenees Shire, representing Rural Councils Victoria;
  • Cr Shane Sali, Greater Shepparton City Council, representing Regional Cities Victoria;
  • Cr Ian Bye, Wellington Shire, representing One Gippsland;
  • Cr Denise Massoud, Whitehorse City Council, representing the Eastern Region Group of Councils.

“Bass Coast Shire Council is proud to have mayoral representation on the LGMAP bringing peri-urban community needs and issues to the forefront,” said Bass Coast Shire Council CEO, Greg Box.

“Mayor Cr Clare Le Serve’s inclusion on the Advisory panel is recognition Bass Coast is an important voice for regional and Perri urban communities to have at the table,” he said.

Latest Articles