Thursday, February 22, 2024

Women in LG honoured at Parliament House

Some of the most talented and inspiring women working in NSW Councils have been recognised in a ceremony at Parliament House for the 2022 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government.

NSW Minister for Local Government, Wendy Tuckerman said the Awards were a celebration of the significant contribution women make to the sector, as staff or elected representatives.

“Local government offers a world of opportunity for women, and I’m so proud to be putting a spotlight on some of the fantastic achievements and programs nominated for an award,” Mrs Tuckerman said.

“Each of the inspirational women receiving an award today is making a difference in their community and they thoroughly deserve this recognition.”

NSW Minister for Women, Bronnie Taylor said the annual Awards celebrate women setting an example of excellence in public service.

“Today’s Award winners demonstrate the essential role women play in making our communities better places to live and work,” Mrs Taylor said.

“These women are not only high-achievers, they are role models for anyone interested in a career in local government and I congratulate them all on their achievements.”

The winners of the 2022 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government are:

Alternative Pathways Award – Metro

  • Rebecca Tempest,
    Resource Recovery and Waste Services Manager, Blue Mountains City Council

Alternative Pathways Award – Regional/Rural

  • Doreen Harwood,
    Enterprise Risk and Emergency Management Officer, Tweed Shire Council

Champion of Change Award – Metro

  • Jennifer Concato,
    Executive Director, City Planning and Design, City of Parramatta Council

Champion of Change Award – Regional/Rural

  • Kim Bush,
    Division Manager, Community Development and Participation, Eurobodalla Shire Council

Elected Representative Award – Metro

  • Mayor, Dr Christina Curry, Bayside Council

Elected Representative Award – Regional/Rural

  • Mayor, Chris Cherry, Tweed Shire Council

Employment Diversity Award – Metro

  • Cumberland City Council

Employment Diversity Award – Regional/Rural

  • Rous County Council

Young Achiever’s Award – Metro

  • Grace Haydon,
    Senior Project Officer, Major Projects and Precincts, City of Parramatta Council

Young Achiever’s Award – Regional/Rural

  • Shannon MacKenzie,
    Trainee Administration Officer, Lake Macquarie City Council

Councillor Lilliane Brady OAM Award (formerly the Minister for Local Government Award for Women)

  • Mayor, Sharon Cadwallader, Ballina Shire Council.

Latest Articles