Friday, February 23, 2024

WA councillors recognised for service

Four former Councillors and a Local Government stalwart were recognised for service to their communities with Australia Day Honours awards recently.

Keith Geoffrey Rickman was bestowed the Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division for his long service to the community of Stirling as a City employee.

Mr Rickman was employed at the City of Stirling from 1973 to 2021, including two decades as the City’s Waste Services Coordinator.

Joining Mr Rickman with OAM accolades were ex-Shire of Dalwallinu Councillor and Deputy President John Hyde, ex-Town of Claremont Cr Mary McComish and long-serving City of Mandurah, Cr Lynn Rodgers (pictured).

The late Dr Kenneth Collins, who served as City of Nedlands Deputy Mayor from 2011-13, was named an Officer of the Order of Australia.

Order of Australia Medal (OAM) recipients:

  • Keith Rickman – City of Stirling employee, 1973 – 2021
  • John Hyde – Shire of Dalwallinu Councillor, 1966-71
  • Mary McComish – Town of Claremont Councillor, 2007-11
  • Lynn Rodgers – City of Mandurah Councillor, 2001-21

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) recipient:

  • Kenneth Collins – City of Nedlands Councillor, 2009-13

WA Local Government Association President, Cr Karen Chappel, congratulated the sector’s award recipients.

“This year’s award winners include four who have served on Council as Elected Members and another who has worked at a Local Government for almost five decades,” Cr Chappel said.

“The Association congratulates each recipient on their award and thanks them for their collective contribution to their communities through their various roles in Local Government.”

Latest Articles