Thursday, May 30, 2024

Victorian Govt waives waste levy for flood-hit LGAs

The Victorian Government has today announced it will work with councils to waive waste levies as flood-affected communities clean up and recover from the state’s latest flooding incident.

Victorian Premier, Daniel Andrews said the waste levy for flood waste will be completely waived, and landfill operator gate fees covered, in flood-hit local government areas until the end of the year – ensuring all flood waste can be disposed of at landfill free of charge.

“We’re not wasting any time to clean up flood-affected communities – we’re working with councils and communities to remove any barriers to getting on with our recovery,” said Mr Andrews.

In collaboration with councils and the waste industry, the Government will work to ensure that all impacted communities have access to a facility or site to dispose of their waste quickly and safely, he said.

The state’s Environment Protection Authority will work with councils and landfill operators to implement the waste levy waiver.

It is projected that 300,000 tonnes of waste will be sent to landfill as a result of the October 2022 floods.

The waste levy for flood waste and the gate fee usually charged by the site operator will be waived for the following 46 worst-affected local government areas until 31 December:

  • Alpine Shire Council
  • Ararat Rural City Council
  • Banyule City Council
  • Benalla Rural City Council
  • Boroondara Council
  • Brimbank City Council
  • Buloke Shire Council
  • Campaspe Shire Council
  • Central Goldfields Shire Council
  • City of Ballarat
  • City of Greater Geelong
  • Colac Otway Shire Council
  • Corangamite Shire Council
  • Gannawarra Shire Council
  • Glenelg Shire
  • Golden Plains Shire Council
  • Greater Bendigo City Council
  • Greater Shepparton City Council
  • Hepburn Shire Council
  • Horsham Rural City Council
  • Hume City Council
  • Indigo Shire Council
  • Loddon Shire Council
  • Macedon Ranges Shire Council
  • Manningham City Council
  • Mansfield Shire Council
  • Maribyrnong City Council
  • Melbourne City Council
  • Mitchell Shire Council
  • Moira Shire Council
  • Moonee Valley City Council
  • Moorabool Shire Council
  • Mount Alexander Shire Council
  • Moyne Shire
  • Murrindindi Shire Council
  • Northern Grampians Shire Council
  • Pyrenees Shire Council
  • Strathbogie Shire Council
  • Swan Hill Rural City Council
  • Wangaratta Rural City Council
  • Warrnambool City Council
  • Whittlesea Council
  • Wodonga Council
  • Wyndham City Council
  • Yarra Ranges Council
  • Yarriambiack Shire Council

Other LGAs impacted by floods will be added to the list as required, ensuring affected communities can undertake clean up and recovery activities without paying for the disposal of their waste, the Government said in a statement.

The rebates will make sure all flood waste can be disposed of at landfill free of charge, with the waste levy usually between $62.95 per tonne and $125.90 per tonne, depending on the type of waste and the location of the landfill.

“We’re helping clean up flood-impacted communities by waiving fees for flood waste, working with local government to get recovery underway,” said Minister for Environment and Climate Action, Lily D’Ambrosio. 

Latest Articles