Sunday, June 23, 2024

Thousands cast vote for Brisbane Lord Mayor’s best photo award

Thousands of Brisbane residents have cast their votes and declared a sunset snap as the People’s Choice winner for the 2023 Lord Mayor’s Photographic Awards.

Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner congratulated winner Lilly Walker on her image ‘Garden fit for a Queen’ (pictured, below) which took home the People’s Choice title and a $1,500 cash prize.

“Whether it’s being performed on a stage, hung in a gallery or captured behind the lens, Brisbane residents love to support local creatives,” Lord Mayor Schrinner said.

“This year’s People’s Choice Award was hotly contested with over 8,800 votes submitted from across the city.

“With more than 1,700 online votes received, Lilly’s photo was the run-away winner, depicting the afternoon sun casting shadows on the trumpet tree in the Queen’s Garden.

The 2023 theme ‘Rediscover Brisbane’ encouraged photographers to share their own unique view of Brisbane and we received more than 2000 individual entries.

“The winners across all categories did a fantastic job in sharing a slice of Brisbane through their eyes,” the Lord Mayor said.

He said events like the Lord Mayor’s Photographic Awards were a fantastic way for residents to get involved in Council’s free and affordable events program.

“From workshops, to classes, to competitions and more, Council has an activity for everyone as part of our year-round events program.”

“We are committed to providing free and affordable activities across the city and the suburbs that cater to all interests and make living in Brisbane even better.”

All category winners received their awards at a ceremony yesterday in City Hall .

The People’s Choice category winner will have their image displayed on the Brisbane City Council’s website.

All winning images can be viewed in person at the Brisbane Square Library or the People’s Gallery in Brisbane City Hall Library.

Images can also be viewed online at

Winners of the Lord Mayor’s Photographic Awards 2023:

  • Open category, $5000 – Conner Gouws
  • Open category first runner-up, $2000 – Rosemary Featherstone
  • Open category second runner-up, $1000 – Tae Young
  • Green Heart category, $1500 – Trevor Petersen
  • Student category, $1500 – Tapash Alister
  • Social Media category, $1500 – Jane Hatzl
  • LaVonne Bobongie Award, $1500 – Daniel Fewquandie
  • People’s Choice Award, $1500 – Lilly Walker.

Latest Articles