Monday, May 27, 2024

SEQ Mayors converge on Canberra to secure City Deal

Two years on since the Commonwealth committed to delivering an SEQ City Deal, the SEQ Mayors converged on Canberra today with a united call to make 2021 the year to seal the Deal.

The SEQ City Deal is a 20-year agreement between three levels of government and industry to jointly identify and deliver infrastructure and economic priorities for South East Queensland. Due for completion last year, it was stalled amidst the COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent delays to Federal and State budgets.  

The Deal will play a critical role in delivering the transport infrastructure the region needs to manage its growing population as well as enable a successful 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games

Council of Mayors (SEQ) Chair and Brisbane Lord Mayor, Adrian Schrinner said without significant transport investment through an SEQ City Deal, the region’s public transport network would struggle to cater for population growth let alone the additional load of a Brisbane 2032 Games. 

“This delegation to Canberra will focus on one clear message to our Commonwealth counterparts, it’s time to finalise the SEQ City Deal and deliver the infrastructure the region needs to support its growing population,” Mayor Schrinner said.

“As we edge closer to a potential host decision for the 2032 Games, the region needs to demonstrate it can deliver a fast, efficient and reliable public transport network that is able to support the growth of South East Queensland,” he said.

“As part of the International Olympic Committee’s recent Brisbane 2032 announcement, it acknowledged how important the SEQ City Deal is to our proposal. It will be a powerful tool in ensuring the region is ready to host the 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games.”

The Council of Mayors (SEQ) will meet with the following government and opposition representatives today and tomorrow:

  • Scott Morrison, Prime Minister and Minister for the Public Service;
  • Michael McCormack, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development;
  • Paul Fletcher, Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts;
  • Senator Richard Colbeck, Minister for Youth and Sport and Minister for Aged Care and Senior Australians;
  • Mark Coulton, Minister for Regional Health, Regional Communications and Local Government;
  • Peter Dutton MP, Minister for Home Affairs;
  • Dan Tehan, Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment;
  • Sussan Ley MP, Minister for Environment ;    
  • Trevor Evans, Assistant Minister for Waste Reduction and Environmental Management;
  • Scott Buchholz, Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport;  
  • Ted O’Brien, Member of Fairfax and Prime Minister’s representative for the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games proposal;
  • Anthony Albanese, Leader of the Opposition;
  • Dr Jim Chalmers, Shadow Treasurer;
  • Catherine King, Shadow Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development;
  • Jason Clare, Shadow Minister for Regional Services, Territories and Local Government;
  • Andrew Giles, Shadow Minister for Cities and Urban Infrastructure;
  • Terri Butler, Shadow Minister for Environment and Water;
  • Josh Wilson, Shadow Assistant Minister for the Environment.

A number of regional issues will be discussed as part of the Canberra visit including the SEQ City Deal, the Brisbane 2032 proposal, the Resilient Rivers Initiative and the SEQ Mayors’ regional approach to waste management in South East Queensland. 

The Council of Mayors (SEQ) represents the 11 councils and more than three million residents of South East Queensland. Its membership includes Brisbane, Ipswich, Gold Coast, Lockyer Valley, Logan, Moreton Bay, Redland, Scenic Rim, Somerset, Sunshine Coast and Toowoomba councils.

Latest Articles