Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Perth to hand city keys to Kerr

International soccer superstar, Sam Kerr, will be awarded the Keys to the City of Perth in a public event in the city next month.

At a Special Council Meeting this week, the City of Perth Council voted to grant the Keys to the City to the WA-born soccer star and current captain of the Australian Matildas.

Perth Lord Mayor, Basil Zempilas said Sam Kerr was an inspiration to all young athletes and the Keys to the City was an honour that was not bestowed lightly or regularly.

“Sam is a role model athlete and an inspiration for people young and old – but especially young girls – and she is arguably Australia’s most decorated and popular athlete,” he said.

“I am delighted that in granting this award, she will become the first West Australian-born female recipient of the Keys to the City of Perth.

“I have spoken with her parents and they told me she would be thrilled and honoured to accept this award.”

Ms Kerr has received multiple awards since bursting on to the soccer scene as a 15-year- old in 2009 and just last month received the Women’s Footballer of the Year as the best player in the FA Women’s Super League in England for her club side, Chelsea.

She is Australia’s all-time leading scorer – male or female – and in the past two seasons has won the treble with Chelsea while also winning the prestigious Golden Boot for scoring the most goals.

This year, she received the Medal of the Order of Australia for services to football following her award as Young Australian of the Year in 2018.

She will become the first recipient of the Keys to the City of Perth since Kerry Stokes eight years ago in 2014.

The presentation to Sam Kerr will take place at a public event in Forrest Place on Friday July 8.

“This is a great opportunity for everyone to come out and see Sam accept this award and show her the appreciation she deserves,” Lord Mayor Zempilas said.

Previous recipients of the City of Perth Key to the City include Nobel Prize winning scientists, Prof Barry Marshall and Dr Robin Warren, and the West Coast Eagles on becoming the first team outside of Victoria to win the AFL premiership in 1992.

Latest Articles