Monday, May 27, 2024

Nominations for women in local government awards open

Nominations for the NSW 2021 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government have opened.

NSW Minister for Local Government, Shelley Hancock said the 14th annual awards were a chance to recognise female councillors and council staff who make their local communities better through hard work and bold ideas.

“There are a growing number of women playing a vital role in creating stronger local councils and contributing to a better life for their local residents,” Mrs Hancock said.

“This has been particularly evident during the challenges we have experienced during the COVID-19 pandemic when we have seen our local councils working hard to help their local communities respond and recover,” she said.

“I urge all councils and their employees as well as residents to nominate outstanding women whose dedication and commitment contribute so much to their local council and community’s overall success.”

NSW Minister for Women, Bronnie Taylor said last year saw the highest number of nominations submitted in the history of the awards.

“This is not only an indication of the many brilliant women serving in our local councils, it is also a sign that the NSW Government’s mission to recognise these inspiring women and address the gender imbalance is resonating,” Mrs Taylor said.

Award categories are:

  • Employment Diversity Award – a successful council program to increase female participation in senior leadership roles or at the elected representative level
  • Elected Representative Award – a councillor who has advanced the position of female elected representatives
  • Champion of Change Award – a general manager or senior manager who has excelled in supporting and encouraging women’s participation at their council
  • Alternative Pathways Award – a female staff member who is breaking down gender stereotypes
  • Young Achiever’s Award – an outstanding trainee/apprentice (aged under 25)
  • The Lilliane Brady OAM Award (formerly known as the Minister for Local Government Award for Women). The winner of this award is selected by the Minister. No nominations are required.

The late Cobar Mayor, Lilliane Brady OAM was the inaugural recipient of the Minister for Local Government Award for Women in 2020.

This award has been formally named after Lilliane to honour her extraordinary life and career as the State’s longest serving female mayor, and advocacy for women in the sector.

To further recognise Lilliane’s outstanding contribution, recipients of the Young Achiever’s Award will also receive the Lilliane Brady OAM Scholarship, valued at $1500 each.

Each category will be separately awarded to a metropolitan council and a regional/rural council.

Nominations close on April 30.

For more information and to make a nomination, visit

Latest Articles