Wednesday, April 24, 2024

New Mayor for Western Downs

Western Downs Regional Councillor, Andrew Smith, has been declared the region’s new Mayor, following the 2024 local government election.

Councillor Smith received 76.19% of the mayoral vote and will take the reins from retiring Mayor, Paul McVeigh.

Mayor Smith is serving his fifth consecutive term on Council, having first been elected in 2008 and previously serving as Deputy Mayor from 2016 to 2024.

He will lead a team of eight Councillors to guide the next four years for the Western Downs.

Mayor Smith said the incoming Council was positioned exceptionally well to confidently lead the Western Downs into the future.

“This Council is financially strong and debt free and has worked extremely hard to set a clear strategic direction for the region’s economy, infrastructure and liveability,” Mayor Smith said.

“I have full confidence in our newly elected Council’s capacity to drive our region forward and deliver security and wonderful liveability outcomes for the Western Downs.”

In a tremendous show of support by the Western Downs community, all six Councillors who were up for re-election will return to lead the region in the new term of Council.

“I’d like to congratulate my fellow Councillors Kylie Bourne, Megan James, Kaye Maguire, George Moore and Peter Saxelby on their re-election and thank each of them for their invaluable contribution over the previous term of Council,” Mayor Smith said.

“These five Councillors have an excellent working knowledge of our region and have laid a strong foundation for Council’s strategic planning and future growth.

“This vote of confidence is an endorsement of Council’s direction and delivery over recent years.

“Our elected member team will also benefit greatly from the additional wisdom and expertise of three enthusiastic and trusted new Councillors in Sophie Bougoure, Sam Condon and Greg Olm.

“We all share a great love of the Western Downs, and though I’m sure we will continue to each have different perspectives and ideas in the boardroom, I’m confident this Council will function as a united, cohesive and caring elected member team.”

Mayor Smith acknowledged the contributions of departing Mayor Paul McVeigh and retiring Councillors Carolyn Tillman and Ian Rasmussen.

“I’d like to thank outgoing Mayor Paul McVeigh for his tremendous service and dedication in driving a strong, united team that has delivered tremendous legacy outcomes for the region we all love to call home,” he said.

“Cr Tillman is one of Queensland’s longest serving Councillors having served our communities on the Western Downs for 27 years and Cr Rasmussen served for 12 years across three consecutive terms.

“Their collective contributions to our region are immeasurable and I thank each of them for their service to our communities.”

Latest Articles