Friday, July 19, 2024

New Deputy Mayor for Cairns

Councillor Brett Moller has been elected as the new Deputy Mayor of Cairns Regional Council.

At a Special Council Meeting today, a majority of Councillors voted to elect Cr Moller (pictured) into the deputy position.

Cr Moller was first elected as Division 1 Councillor at the 2016 local government election and was returned at the 2020 election.

A qualified lawyer, Cr Moller has formerly served as Chair of Ports North, is a past State President of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry Queensland, and a previous Director on the Australian Chamber of Commerce Board.

He currently serves as Deputy Chair of Regional Development Australia Tropical North and as Deputy Chair of the Local Authority Waste Management Action Committee Inc.

“I thank my fellow Councillors for the opportunity to serve in this important position,” Cr Moller said.

“I think I bring a lot of experience to the position in terms of board representation, directorships, and more than seven years as a Councillor, as well as being a practicing lawyer for more than 30 years.

“I will endeavour to support Mayor Terry James and bring stability, confidence and certainty for our residents leading into the 2024 local government elections.”

Cr Moller will be in the position until the local government elections, which will be held on 16 March 2024.

Following the recent resignation of former Mayor Bob Manning and the appointment of Cr Terry James as Mayor, nominations for the vacant Division 4 Councillor position are now open.

Nominees must live in the Cairns local government area and meet the conditions outlined in Sections 152-156 of the LGA. Nominees must also have completed the mandatory

Nominations for the vacant Division 4 Councillor position will close 5pm on Monday 4 December.

Latest Articles