Friday, February 23, 2024

National LG awards open for entries

Entries for the 2023 National Awards are now open. This year there will be 11 award categories that celebrate the strengths of local government, their ability to deliver positive outcomes, and their role in building stronger cohesive communities.

2023 LG award categories:

  • Women in Local Government
  • Waste management
  • Road safety
  • Regional growth
  • Productivity through infrastructure
  • Indigenous recognition
  • Disaster preparedness
  • Creativity and culture
  • Cohesive communities
  • Career starter
  • Addressing violence against women and their children

Entries must be submitted online at

All elected local government organisations, local government associations and other recognised organisations that provide direct services to Australian communities are eligible to enter an initiative.

The National Awards for Local Government (National Awards) are an annual celebration of local government achievements in Australia. They highlight initiatives implemented by local governments that are innovative, make a difference to their local communities, display excellence, and have outcomes that are replicable across the country.

Following the entry period, councils have the opportunity to recognise the work and achievements of their peers in the local government sector, through the voting system to determine the 2023 National Award winners. Voting is also open to the public.

For further information, including eligibility and entry requirements, please see the Entry Guidelines.

If you would like to subscribe to email updates about the National Awards, send your details to

Latest Articles