Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Kingston names new Junior Mayor

Carrum Primary School student, Eli Murphy, has been elected as Kingston Council’s Junior Mayor for 2022-23.

Kingston Mayor, Steve Staikos said the Junior Mayor program was a wonderful annual event that has been run within the City of Kingston for over six decades in partnership with Chelsea Rotary.

“It really makes me smile that we have such a long running and positive grassroots democratic program like this within our city,” Mayor Staikos said.

“Learning more about how local government works, and the democratic system more generally, along with building leadership skills is extremely beneficial for our next generation.”

This year, students were asked to present to a gathering of peers and teachers from 24 local schools on the topic: ‘If you had a time machine and could travel five years into the future, what do you hope your community would look like?’

“The students gave some wonderful speeches that discussed important issues such as
sustainability and the environment, inclusion and diversity, community safety, and importantly taking care of each other,” Mayor Staikos said.

“These are all themes that we value here in Kingston.”

Eli and his team members, Mali, Abbie and Lachlan did an outstanding job with their presentation, highlighting the beautiful beaches along the Kingston shoreline and speaking
passionately about eradicating litter, particularly cigarette butts, due to the plastics and small particles impacting marine life. Among their creative ideas for tackling the problem was developing a bin specifically for cigarette butts, which when full would trigger donations to marine centres.

Judah James from Heatherton Christian College was runner-up in the Junior Mayor election,
while Chelsea Heights Primary School’s Sarah O’Neill picked up the Encouragement Award.
The Junior Mayor, who receives robes, chains and $500 for their school, will be called on to assist the Mayor at a range of official Council events.

Eli replaces outgoing Junior Mayor, Amelia Holko, who was acknowledged for her contributions, including being a strong representative for the Junior Councillors over the past year.

The full Junior Council for 2022-23 is:
• Eli Murphy from Carrum Primary School for Banksia Ward
• Rannveer Singh Kahlon from Westall Primary School for Bunjil Ward
• Paige Donsen from Kingswood Primary School for Caruana Ward
• Judah James from Heatherton Christian College for Chicquita Ward
• Scarlett Presnell from St Patrick’s Primary School for Como Ward
• Ruslana Teregulova from Moorabbin Primary School for Karkarook Ward
• Elodie Trutsch from Chelsea Primary School for Longbeach Ward
• Ruby McWilliams from Parkdale Primary School for Melaleuca Ward
• Chloe Ward from St Joseph’s Primary School for Sandpiper Ward
• Neve Hoult from Our Lady of the Assumption for Wattle Ward
• Aadi Chordiya from Aspendale Gardens Primary School for Yammerbook Ward.

Latest Articles