Monday, May 27, 2024

Kiama council leaders returned

Councillor Neil Reilly will continue as Mayor of Kiama Municipal Council after being re-elected at last night’s Council meeting.

Councillor Imogen Draisma was also re-elected as Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor and Deputy Mayor (pictured) were elected by their fellow councillors for one year, until the NSW Local Government elections on 14 September 2024.

“At these elections, residents of our municipality will be asked whether they want to directly elect their Mayor,” the Council said in a statement.

“If the vote is yes, Kiama voters will directly elect their Mayor starting from the 2028 Local Government elections.”

Councillors will still elect the Deputy Mayor.  

Latest Articles