Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Flood relief funding to reach Kempsey and Port Macquarie

Jointly funded Commonwealth-State disaster assistance is now available in 42 local government areas (LGAs) following severe weather and flooding across NSW in June/July, with relief today extended to Kempsey and Port Macquarie Hastings.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Murray Watt, said flooding had impacted many areas along the east coast, with recovery operations continuing.

“Although the worst of the weather event is behind us, it is critical that the New South Wales and Federal governments continue to deliver support to residents and businesses impacted by these floods,” Minister Watt said.

“That includes making sure that the support on offer is available as quickly and simply as possible.”

NSW Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience and Minister for Flood Recovery, Steph Cooke said the recovery effort was well underway in Greater Sydney, the South Coast, Illawarra, the Central West, the Central Coast, the Hunter and the Mid North Coast.

“The number of LGAs now subject to a natural disaster declaration demonstrates the widespread impact of the recent flood event, stretching from Shoalhaven in the south to Kempsey in the north and west to Lithgow,” Ms Cooke said.

“New South Wales will continue working closely with the Commonwealth to put additional funding and resources into the ongoing recovery effort.”

Disaster assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

  • Assistance available under the DRFA may include:
  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply);
  • Support for local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations; and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

The 42 LGAs now subject to natural disaster declarations are: Bayside, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Canterbury Bankstown, Campbelltown, Central Coast, Cessnock, Cumberland, Dungog, Fairfield, Georges River, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Kempsey, Kiama, Lake Macquarie, Lithgow, Liverpool, Maitland, Mid Coast, Muswellbrook, Nambucca, Narromine, Newcastle, Northern Beaches, Oberon, Penrith, Port Macquarie Hastings, Port Stephens, Randwick, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Singleton, Strathfield, Sutherland, The Hills, Upper Lachlan, Warren, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly and Wollongong.

Latest Articles