Friday, June 21, 2024

Flood relief flows to another 8 LGAs

Disaster assistance has been extended to a further eight local government areas (LGAs) following severe weather and flooding across the state.

Flood relief will be made available to the LGAs of Cumberland, Mid Coast, Muswellbrook, Nambucca, Newcastle, Port Stephens, Randwick and Warren.

The total number of disaster-declared LGAs for the weather event that began on 27 June is now 37.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Senator Murray Watt said the severe weather and flooding continues to impact many areas of NSW with flood evacuation orders still in place.

“I’ve been out in impacted areas this week and it’s clear this is a widespread event, which is going to take some time to recover from,” Senator Watt said.

“As the damage continues to be assessed, the New South Wales and Australian governments are working to quickly and efficiently provide access to financial and other assistance.”

NSW Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience and Minister for Flood Recovery, Steph Cooke said the scale of the flood event requires significant recovery support.

“Declaring a natural disaster is an essential first step towards getting a range of support out the door and in the pockets of individuals, families, farmers and business owners,” Ms Cooke said.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply);
  • Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential roads and public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations, and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

The Australian Government’s Disaster Recovery Payment of $1,000 per adult and $400 per child is administered by the Commonwealth and is separate to the DRFA.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the National Recovery and Resilience Agency’s website at

Latest Articles