Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Byron elects Rous County Council delegates

Byron Shire Mayor, Michael Lyon, and Deputy Mayor, Sarah Ndiaye, have been elected as Byron Shire Council’s delegates to Rous County Council at the first meeting of the new Council, held last week.

Rous County Council is made up of eight councillors with two nominated from each of the constituent councils (Ballina, Byron, Lismore and Richmond Valley). The delegates are required to be elected at the start of each new local government term.

Both the Mayor and the Deputy Mayor received majority support and will now represent the views of Byron Shire Council on a range of issues governed by Rous County Council, including the Future Water Project 2060.

“This is a big role – one I take very seriously, and I am honoured to have the support of our new Council behind me,” Mayor Lyon said.

“It is a privilege to be working for the community in this capacity, and I will be happy to take their views on water supply, floodplain management and weed management to Rous.”

Deputy Mayor, Sarah Ndiaye said she had no doubt that this term on Rous County Council would be a challenging one. 

“The majority of representatives elected thus far have articulated that they don’t support the current direction of the Future Water Project 2060, that supports diverse water strategies to meet our future needs – strategies that don’t include the Dunoon Dam.”

“I will be able to prosecute our case and continue to represent our views effectively and with diplomacy,” she said.

Councillors are elected in accordance with the Local Government Council term, with a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson being elected each year by the delegates appointed to Rous County Council.

Latest Articles