Friday, March 1, 2024

Brisbane council celebrates city’s unsung heroes

Brisbane City Council has recognised the everyday people who have done extraordinary things across its suburbs with the 2024 Lord Mayor’s Australia Day Awards.

Lord Mayor, Adrian Schrinner honoured the recipients at a ceremony in City Hall last night, ahead of them being publicly acknowledged at this year’s Australia Day Citizenship Ceremony.

“The annual Australia Day awards celebrate the people who embody Brisbane’s values and our nation’s famed Aussie spirit,” Cr Schrinner said.

“The winners’ stories are fantastic examples of what happens when Brisbane residents go above and beyond for their community.”

The Lord Mayor said Senior Citizen of the Year, Betty Jennings’ unwavering dedication to helping those in need led her to volunteer as a Diggers’ Dozen in the Greenslopes Private Hospital for more than 20 years.

Also honoured was not-for-profit organisation, Dig In, which took out Young Citizen of the Year, accepted by Curtis Sciacca and Lindsay Brown.

“Operating across two locations in Fortitude Valley and West End, Dig In embraces innovation and technology to help serve 300-350 meals to those experiencing food insecurity every Saturday,” said Cr Schrinner.

“This year also we recognise Ryan Finn as the Australia Day Sports Award recipient, who for the past 7 years has volunteered his time to the Para Sport of Boccia, empowering young people with disability to enjoy and engage in sports.”

The award winners will be publicly acknowledged at this year’s Australia Day Citizenship Ceremony at City Hall in front of more than 550 new citizens.

2024 Lord Mayor’s Australia Day Award Winners

Citizen of the Year John James Melandri
Senior Citizen of the Year Betty JenningsSTONES CORNER
Young Citizen of the Year Dig In, accepted by Curtis Sciacca and Lindsay BrownMILTON
Australia Day Cultural/Arts Award Marie ClarkBELMONT
Australia Day Sports Award Ryan FinnBRACKEN RIDGE
Corporate Citizen of the Year Paul SpiroSPRING HILL
Community Event of the Year Carols in the Park, North-East Baptist ChurchNUNDAH
Green Heart Award Rita FordCARINA
Australia Day Achievement Awards Joan Coghlan OAM and Paul CoghlanMOOROOKA
Diane GageNEW FARM
Paige GarlandSALISBURY
Jyoti-Amarjot GorayaASPLEY
Mary and David KearneyKARANA DOWNS
Jeff Kruger and Mitchell RowingBELMONT/ CAMP HILL
Andrew LescesinMILTON
Jeannette MeyerBANYO
Craig MooreLOTA
Syed Asghar NaqviRUNCORN
Bruce RiddelTENNYSON
Lisa RobinsonFOREST LAKE
Don WillsherASHGROVE

Latest Articles